National Working Group

National Working Group on Vulnerability and Risk Assessment is constituted by NDMA to provide strategic guidance and to coordinate all activities related to vulnerability and risk assessment in the country.

The purpose of the National Working Group is to ensure the consistency in methodologies employed for disaster risk assessments, uniformity in data format during collection process, and coordinating risk assessments efforts to ensure no gaps exist and to avoid overlapping of efforts. Another purpose of the National Working Group is to provide guidance for development of ‘National Platform for Data Sharing for Disaster Risk Management’ by the NDMA, with the World Bank’s support.

A formal notification was issued by NDMA for the incorporation of National Working Group on Vulnerability & Risk Assessment on September 28, 2012. The group includes 22 members from various government and non-government agencies/organizations, under the chairmanship of Chairman NDMA. The National Working Group has already met twice, and has constituted four subject-specific Technical Sub-groups to lead and coordinate the efforts for earthquake hazard, flood hazard, exposure, and vulnerability & risk communication. The World Bank is providing technical advisory support to the National Working Group.

  1. Chairman- NDMA, Islamabad
  2. Member DRR- NDMA, Islamabad
  3. Senior Disaster Risk Management Specialist - World Bank Bank Pakistan
  4. --Director General- FATA Disaster Management Authority
  5. --Director General - State Disaster Management Authority
  6. --Director General- Gilgit Baltistan Disaster Management Authority
  7. --Director General - PDMA Balochistan
  8. --Director General - PDMA Khyber Pakhtunkhwa
  9. --Director General - PDMA Punjab
  10. --Director General - PDMA Sindh
  11. Member SAR - SUPARCO, Islamabad
  12. Director General- Pakistan Meteorological Department, Islamabad
  13. Deputy Surveyor General- Survey of Pakistan, Islamabad
  14. Director General - Geological Survey of Pakistan
  15. Chief Engineer(H&WM) - WAPDA, Lahore
  16. Chief Engineer- Federal Flood Commission, Islamabad
  17. Director General- Climate Change & Environment
  18. Director General EPA- Ministry of Climate Change
  19. MOHW - Director General - Ministry of Housing & Works, Islamabad
  20. Engineer Directorate Representative(Engineering Department - GHQ Rawalpindi
  21. Food Commission - Ministry of National Food Security & Research (MNFSR)
  22. Joint Secretary of Ministry of Defense,Islamabad
  23. Member Infrastructure ,Planning & Development Division, Islamabad
  24. PEC - Pakistan Engineering Council
  25. Head of Institute of GIS - NUST, Islamabad
  26. Head of National Centre of Excellence in Geology, University of Peshawar
  27. Vice President ,Geo Technical & Geo Environmental Engineering Division NESPAK, Lahore
  28. Deputy Resident Representative- JICA, Islamabad